Laryngitis in Cats

Have you ever been so wrapped up in one problem that you totally ignore another? I was so involved in the last days of Henry’s life on this earth that I didn’t actually pay any attention to my other fur-babies. Sure, I stepped in wet spots here and there but figured someone just had a hairball.

Turns out I was wrong. Milo had laryngitis and I presume a sore throat. He’s not an overly friendly fella anyway, but when I’d bend down to pet him, he’d purr. Then he’d hack and spit up phlegm. He looked so miserable with trails of drool hanging out of his mouth.

034Since it had been a couple of days since I really noticed his distress, I knew I needed to act fast. He wasn’t eating, and I wasn’t sure he was drinking. Milo is a BIG cat. I was worried that he’d get dehydrated. Since I already went through that with Henry, I couldn’t bear to deal with it again.

So, I pulled out the big guns. I totally believe in homeopathy, but I was afraid I waited too long for them to take effect. I pulled out some tetracycline and added a smidgen into a small bottle with an eyedropper. I added some bottled water and put in some Drosera. Drosera IS a homeopathic remedy for coughing and laryngitis. That was this morning.

I’ve been checking on him throughout the day, and tonight I grabbed the brush and started brushing him. He began to purr, and I waited for a cough and it never appeared. No drool, no nothing. I don’t believe he’s eaten anything yet, but I’m going to try to give him something light before I head off to bed.

I’ll also be giving him another couple droppers of the Tetracycline/Drosera mix. I suspect if I’d caught it sooner, I could have gotten away with just the Drosera, which makes me feel bad, but, I’ve learned a good lesson. Even though there are tragedies all around me, I need to remember all my babies, even when I have to say good-bye to one.

106

About tchristoffersen

I grew up in Virginia, migrated to Utah and ended up in Southern Nevada. Over the course of my life, I've had over 20 cats, 5 dogs, hamsters, fish and geckos. I started studying homeopathy when I wanted alternatives to expensive and costly Vet bills AND after one of my cats died from FIP after receiving the Feline Leukemia shot.

Leave a Reply

